In 1970, Long Xuyen Education School was inaugurated with only 4 classes and 260 students.


Then in 1976 An Giang Teacher Training College was established under the Ministry of Education and Training s approval. Then it was administered by the An Giang provincial government from 1985 onwards.


In 1995, An Giang government decided to merge the Education High School into An Giang Teacher Training College which trained teachers to teach in primary and secondary schools in An Giang.


The Prime Minister (PM) signed the Decision on An Giang University's Establishment in December 1999, thereby meeting the requirements of the Mekong Delta provinces to improve the quality of education in Vietnam and to share the responsibility with Can Tho University to offer higher education to the 40,000 high school students graduating every year throughout the Mekong Delta provinces.


The PM also signed the Decision approving the extensive construction of An Giang University on one more area of 40 ha with an investment capital of USD 35 million.


An Giang University is the newest of the two public universities in the Mekong Delta region, one of which is Can Tho University of over 30 year existence.


The university is financially administered by the An Giang People's Committee and academically supervised by the Ministry of Education and Training.


In addition to offering undergraduate programs, the university facilitates staff and faculty research and technology transfer activities to assist in their professional development and to contribute to the Mekong Delta Region s socio-economical and cultural development.


AGU currently has 10,695 students and 738 staff members and lecturers. The university has six main Schools: the School of Education; the School of Agriculture and Natural Resources; the School of Technology and Environment; the School of Economics and Business Management; the School of Culture and Arts; and the School of Philosophy.


AGU has established study programs through its Research Centers including the Center for Information Communication Technology, Center for Foreign Languages, Research Center for Rural Development, Research Center for Social Sciences and Humanities, and Research Center for Community Development. It has also collaborated and fostered relationships with other universities, foundations and research centers both within Vietnam and abroad.


Misson of AGU are providing academic programs of all levels to develop the human resources of An Giang and neighbouring provinces and undertaking research, technology application and technology transfer to promote the economic and social growth of An Giang and neighbouring provinces.